Skip to content

Ken Butigan

Released
Gender:Male
Race:White
Era:1980s
Inmate Number:#76660-011
State:California
Time Imprisoned:
14 Days
Support
Anti-War Anti-Imperialism
Ken Butigan

Biography

Berkeley graduate-theological-union student who reworked the original Pledge document for mass appeal and helped coordinate the October 9, 1984 first mass public signing at the San Francisco Federal Building. National coordinator of the Pledge of Resistance 1987–1990. Imprisoned for six weeks in June and July 1985 for protesting United States policies in Central America; his own account names Boron Federal Prison. Long-time Pace e Bene staff and DePaul University professor; chronicler of the Nevada Desert Experience.

Photo credit

Pace e Bene Nonviolence Service, Ken Butigan headshot. Cropped to portrait orientation.

1985 prison stay and official federal-custody endpoint

In his own published account, Butigan places his six-week imprisonment in June and July 1985 and names Boron Federal Prison. This corrects the prior Terminal Island reference. Admission is recorded at June month precision, with the first of the month only a storage placeholder. The official Bureau of Prisons locator, searched by register number 76660-011, visibly returned KEN BUTIGAN and Not in BOP Custody as of July 17, 1985. That verifies the federal-custody endpoint, not the end of supervision or any possible other custody. Exact arrest, sentencing and admission days remain unknown. Butigan's first-person account; Official federal locator, register 76660-011.

Separate 1983 Livermore detention

The April 17, 1983 Nuclear Resister names Butigan among four men kept in jail over the weekend following the Good Friday Livermore blockade. Good Friday that year was April 1, consistent with the report's Monday April 4 arraignment. The initial arrest and custody therefore have April 1 day precision; the arraignment is not substituted for an actual release date. The report does not specify his individual statutory charge or eventual discharge. Original named custody and arraignment report, printed page 5.

Earlier Livermore episodes from his own account

Butigan identifies March 1, 1982 as his first arrest at the Livermore South Gate blockade. His statement that most participants received a week in jail does not establish his individual sentence or admission and release dates. He also describes his June 1983 arrest and two-week detention in county-jail tents during resistance to proposed probation conditions. That episode is separate from April 1983 and is recorded with June month precision, not a fabricated individual day or calculated release. Ken Butigan, first-person Livermore retrospective.

Cases

Charges: Civil-disobedience prosecution — San Francisco Federal Building protest against United States policies in Central America; exact statutory counts unverified
Incarcerated: June 1985
Released: Jul 17, 1985
Sentence: Six weeks in federal prison during June and July 1985, according to Butigan's first-person account, which names Boron Federal Prison. June 1 is a month-precision admission placeholder, not an exact admission day. Official BOP register76660-011 reports not in BOP custody as of July 17, 1985; this endpoint is federal custody, not proof that all supervision or other custody ended. Exact arrest, sentencing and admission days remain unknown; no admission day is back-calculated from six weeks.
Convicted: Yes
Charges: Livermore Good Friday blockade, April 1, 1983 — individual statutory charge unverified
Arrested: Apr 1, 1983
Incarcerated: Apr 1, 1983
Sentence: Held in jail over the weekend after the Good Friday 1983 Livermore blockade, for refusing to give his name. Arraigned Monday April 4 and pleaded not guilty. Good Friday 1983 resolves to April 1. Arraignment is not a verified release; actual discharge and subsequent disposition remain unknown.
Plead: Not guilty at April 4 arraignment
Charges: Livermore South Gate blockade, March 1, 1982 — individual statutory charge unverified
Arrested: Mar 1, 1982
Sentence: Butigan's first-person retrospective explicitly identifies March 1, 1982 as his first arrest. It states that most participants received a week in county jail but does not specify his individual sentence or custody endpoints. No individual jail admission, release or served-days total is inferred from that group statement.
Charges: Livermore International Day of Resistance blockade, June 1983 — individual statutory charge unverified
Arrested: June 1983
Incarcerated: June 1983
Sentence: Butigan's first-person retrospective reports arrest in June 1983 and two weeks held in makeshift tents on county-jail grounds during jail solidarity against a proposed two-year probation sentence. Individual initial arrest, admission and discharge days unknown. June 1 is a month-precision placeholder, not an exact day; no release is calculated from the reported two weeks.