Skip to content

Felton Davis

AKA: Felton Davis III
Released
Gender:Male
Race:White
Era:1990s
Inmate Number:#10921-050
State:New York
Time Imprisoned:
1 Year 10 Months 25 Days
Support
Anti-Nuclear Anti-War Catholic Worker Movement
Felton Davis

Biography

Felton Davis is a New York Catholic Worker arrested at the Pentagon on August 1999 for refusing to leave the Pentagon steps. He served 90 days in federal custody beginning October 24, 1999.

The March 9, 1983 Nuclear Resister expressly reports Davis physically released from federal custody January 31, 1983 after serving his full ninety-day Picatinny Arsenal trespass sentence, without good time because he declined the prison work program. The underlying action is described as occurring the previous May. This is distinct from his later December 1983 one-week Picatinny sentence and subsequent imprisonments; no exact first-admission date is calculated backward.

Davis was individually named among the August 25, 1986 arrestees at a blockade of Riverside Research Institute on West 42nd Street in Manhattan, part of Catholic Worker opposition to military research. The planned September 22 hearing does not establish a later outcome or time served. Source: https://merton.bellarmine.edu/files/original/a6d49f891f187c875866469a770451ab7f5626c7.pdf#page=1

The Catholic Worker reports convictions arising from the 1999 Hiroshima Day vigil on the Pentagon steps and announces an October 24, 2000 sentencing hearing in Alexandria, Virginia. This is an announced hearing, not evidence that a particular prison term had already been served. The Catholic Worker, October–November 2000, vol.LXVII no.6, original PDF page 6. Source: https://merton.bellarmine.edu/files/original/988bea858ac72ddbebb6f3a798f4ffbd552c5dcc.pdf#page=6

Separate December 1983 Picatinny sentence service

The editors personally attended Felton Davis III’s December 13, 1983 federal trial in Newark for trespass at Picatinny Arsenal. They report conviction, a one-week jail sentence and that he was then actually serving it. Exact physical sentence-admission and discharge days are not stated; December 13 is entered only as the sentencing date. This is distinct from his existing 1999 episode. The earlier issue dates the underlying October 24 arrest and recognizance release, which is not continuous imprisonment until December.

The Nuclear Resister No22, December 16, 1983, original page 6.

Separate 1985 Picatinny custody

Felton Davis’s first-person report gives his November 6, 1985 Picatinny trespass arrest and November 7 no-contest plea. The same issue identifies him in actual MCC New York custody, register 04996-050, awaiting sentencing. The scheduled December 19 sentencing was still future and is not stored as an actual event. First jail admission and final release are not stated. This is distinct from his 1983 and 1999 cases already recorded.

The Nuclear Resister No.36, December 9, 1985, original PDF pages 2,4.

Additional individually documented historical custody

The December 1986 current-prisoner directory individually places Felton Davis in Morris County Jail, Morristown, New Jersey, for the “Shut Down TMI” graffiti prosecution, listing October 1986 and a one-year term. The listing establishes a distinct historical actual imprisonment, not the existing 1983 Picatinny or 1999 Pentagon cases. October is case context, not independently a physical admission or sentencing day; one year is nominal, not verified completed service. No custody endpoints or duration are invented.

The Nuclear Resister No.43, December 12, 1986: Original PDF page 4 (printed page 3).

Contemporary 1983–1984 custody evidence

The Pentagon account and Felton Davis’s first-person letter identify his December 28, 1983 graffiti arrest, refusal to identify himself and physical confinement in D.C. Jail. The continued report explicitly says he was released January 30, 1984 when the officer failed to attend and charges were dismissed. This distinct 33-elapsed-day initial detention is not his December 13 Picatinny sentence, 1985 Picatinny case, 1986 TMI case or 1999 Pentagon custody.

The Nuclear Resister No. 23, February 12, 1984, original PDF 2 / printed 1, The Nuclear Resister No. 23, February 12, 1984, original PDF 4 / printed 3.

Actual February 1985 release in an earlier Picatinny stay

The Picatinny update explicitly reports Felton Davis physically released February 15, 1985 after a six-month trespass sentence concurrent with a five-month graffiti sentence, including two weeks in segregation at Lewisburg and a week at a county jail. These are concurrent nominal sentences and reported portions, not eleven completed months or a comprehensive 21-day total. The first admission remains unknown. This is an earlier separate imprisonment: its February release cannot belong to the already stored November 6, 1985 Picatinny arrest, December 1983 one-week sentence, October 1986 TMI case or 1999 Pentagon stay.

The Nuclear Resister No.29, February 27, 1985, original PDF pages 8.

1985 custody evidence and limits

The April 1985 report says Felton Davis spray-painted "KEEP TMI I SHUT DOWN" at the GPU office in Parsippany on March 28, 1985 and was being held on $10,000 bond, with a Morris County Jail address. This establishes an earlier physical detention phase in the TMI-related chronology, not a verified new separate imprisonment in addition to the already recorded later TMI prosecution. The action day alone is not entered as an exact jail admission, and neither continuity through 1986 nor an actual release is established.

The Nuclear Resister No.30, April 16, 1985, PDF pages 4.

Contemporary 1986 custody evidence

The Picatinny update reports Felton Davis physically released in mid-August 1986, three months into a six-month trespass sentence. August 1986 is the supported release month, not an exact day or an actual three-month-to-days conversion. This is a distinct later Picatinny custody report: the existing February 15, 1985 release precedes it, and the October 1986 TMI imprisonment follows it. Neither the 1983 one-week Picatinny case nor the November 1985 arrest’s unverified sentence endpoints are overwritten without an independent linkage.

The Nuclear Resister No. 41, September 18, 1986, original PDF page 8 (printed 7).

Individually documented 1985–1986 custody chronology

The January 20 follow-up expressly confirms Felton Davis returned to federal court in Newark on December 19, 1985 and Magistrate G. D. Haneke imposed the maximum six months for his November 6 Picatinny Arsenal trespass. This converts the earlier December 19 forecast into a confirmed sentencing DAY for the same existing case. It identifies him subsequently at Lewisburg but does not establish the first physical prison-admission day or actual discharge. The directory’s May 1986 projection is not entered as release; the separately preserved later mid-August 1986 Picatinny report is not silently equated with uninterrupted service from this sentence.

The Nuclear Resister No. 37, January 20, 1986, original PDF pages [4, 5].

The Finnish Sivari & Totaali 4/2000 roster lists Felton Davis in connection with blocking access during the August 6, 2000 Hiroshima Day protest at the Pentagon. It prints a ninety-day sentence, Alexandria County Jail and a prison-reporting date of October 23. This is a separate proceeding from his 1999 Pentagon case. Physical admission, discharge and actual duration remain unconfirmed.

Original source, PDF pages 30, 31.

The March 9, 1983 Nuclear Resister expressly reports Davis physically released from federal custody January 31, 1983 after serving his full ninety-day Picatinny Arsenal trespass sentence, without good time because he declined the prison work program. The underlying action is described as occurring the previous May. This is distinct from his later December 1983 one-week Picatinny sentence and subsequent imprisonments; no exact first-admission date is calculated backward.

The Nuclear Resister No.15, March 9, 1983, PDF pages 12, 16.

NR013 explicitly dates Felton Davis III’s May 5, 1982 Picatinny arrest and actual beginning of federal imprisonment November 3. The independently reviewed preserved NR015 page 12 update confirms actual January 31, 1983 release and says he served the full ninety days. That reported service total is preserved as 90 documented days; the calendar endpoints span 89 elapsed days and the source’s counting convention is not silently equated with elapsed days. This 1982–1983 case was previously described only in prose and is distinct from later Picatinny and Pentagon cases.

Source 1.

Felton Davis’s first-person account separates three March–April 1984 custody spells. He describes actual county-jail detention in lieu of $2,000 bail following March 28, 1984 spray-painting at GPU in Parsippany. Although bail was eliminated April 13, actual release occurred at about 9 p.m. April 19 after a court appearance; the order did not itself end custody. They are not continuous detention from March 28 through the later publication.

Source 1.

Felton Davis’s first-person account separates three March–April 1984 custody spells. After actual release April 19, he returned on foot to the GPU site, was re-arrested and held overnight. An officer drove him to Newark and physically released him the following morning, Good Friday April 20. This is a separate overnight stay, with the brief release gap preserved. They are not continuous detention from March 28 through the later publication.

Source 1.

Felton Davis’s first-person account separates three March–April 1984 custody spells. After spending Good Friday April 20 free, he returned to GPU’s Morristown office that night, was re-arrested after 10 p.m., held overnight at the station and returned to county jail Saturday April 21. He remained jailed at publication. No actual final release is supplied. They are not continuous detention from March 28 through the later publication.

Source 1.

His first-person letter distinguishes August 6, 1984 release without prosecution from his August 9 return, charged arrest, refusal of recognizance and actual MCC arrival at about 7 p.m. The six-month Picatinny term ran concurrently with the five-month NYC graffiti term. This fills the beginning of the existing independently corroborated February 15, 1985 release case: 190 elapsed days, without adding concurrent sentences or the intervening free period.

Source 1.

The Felton Freed report individually says Davis had been jailed since March 28, 1985 and was physically released later on September 5 after sentencing that day. It distinguishes his continued summer detention from the judge’s expectation of bail after July trial. The six-month term and $1,000 restitution are court outcomes; actual custody was 161 elapsed days. This is a separate 1985 GPU episode, not the three March-April 1984 stays or the undated 1986 TMI entry.

Source 1.

The December 2000 Azione Nonviolenta peace-prisoner roster individually lists Felton Davis as currently confined at Alexandria County Jail, serving a nominal 90-day sentence from October 23, 2000 following passive resistance at the Pentagon Hiroshima Day protest. Its masthead closed November30 and its introduction expressly concerns current imprisonment on December1; this corroborates actual admission after the earlier Finnish roster had only announced reporting. October23 is the beginning of this distinct2000 sentence custody, not an arrest date inferred from the protest. No completed 90-day total or actual release is supplied. Earlier and later episodes remain separate.

Source 1.

Davis’s October 1986 TMI case included an initial release and rearrest, followed by an October 7 no-contest disposition.

Source report, PDF 1398, pages 2.

The contemporary account dates the GPU criminal-mischief and trespass jury conviction July 3,1985. September 13 was still a projected sentencing date and does not replace the separately confirmed September 5 disposition.

Source report, PDF 1390, pages 5.

The August 1984 update confirms actual release from Morris County Jail May 21, 1984 when bond was reduced to zero. This closes the previously documented April 20 rearrest stay, separately from the earlier April 19 release and overnight return; the Good Friday JCP&L case later ended with a no-contest plea and time-served disposition.

Source report, PDF 1384, pages 7.

A separate July 1984 report places Davis in actual MCC New York custody after a federal-building graffiti action commemorating the July 14 wedding of Ellen Grady and Peter DeMott. The anticipated one week is not completed time served, and no physical admission or discharge day is printed.

Source report, PDF 1384, pages 3.

Cases

Charges: Trespass at the Pentagon
Arrested: Aug 8, 1999
Incarcerated: Aug 8, 1999
Released: Jan 21, 2000
Sentence: 90 days
Sentenced: Dec 13, 1983
Sentence: The editors personally attended Felton Davis III’s December 13, 1983 federal trial in Newark for trespass at Picatinny Arsenal. They report conviction, a one-week jail sentence and that he was then actually serving it. Exact physical sentence-admission and discharge days are not stated; December 13 is entered only as the sentencing date. This is distinct from his existing 1999 episode. The earlier issue dates the underlying October 24 arrest and recognizance release, which is not continuous imprisonment until December.
Charges: Trespass
Arrested: Nov 6, 1985
Sentenced: Dec 19, 1985
Sentence: The January 20 follow-up expressly confirms Felton Davis returned to federal court in Newark on December 19, 1985 and Magistrate G. D. Haneke imposed the maximum six months for his November 6 Picatinny Arsenal trespass. This converts the earlier December 19 forecast into a confirmed sentencing DAY for the same existing case. It identifies him subsequently at Lewisburg but does not establish the first physical prison-admission day or actual discharge. The directory’s May 1986 projection is not entered as release; the separately preserved later mid-August 1986 Picatinny report is not silently equated with uninterrupted service from this sentence.
Judge: G. D. Haneke
Plead: No contest
Arrested: Oct 3, 1986
Sentenced: Oct 7, 1986
Sentence: October 7, 1986 no-contest plea: five concurrent six-month terms and a consecutive six-month term for violating an earlier exclusion order.
Convicted: Yes
Plead: No contest
Charges: Depredation of property
Arrested: Dec 28, 1983
Incarcerated: Dec 28, 1983
Released: Jan 30, 1984
Sentence: The Pentagon account and Felton Davis’s first-person letter identify his December 28, 1983 graffiti arrest, refusal to identify himself and physical confinement in D.C. Jail. The continued report explicitly says he was released January 30, 1984 when the officer failed to attend and charges were dismissed. This distinct 33-elapsed-day initial detention is not his December 13 Picatinny sentence, 1985 Picatinny case, 1986 TMI case or 1999 Pentagon custody.
Convicted: No
Charges: Trespass
Arrested: Aug 9, 1984
Incarcerated: Aug 9, 1984
Released: Feb 15, 1985
Sentence: The Picatinny update explicitly reports Felton Davis physically released February 15, 1985 after a six-month trespass sentence concurrent with a five-month graffiti sentence, including two weeks in segregation at Lewisburg and a week at a county jail. These are concurrent nominal sentences and reported portions, not eleven completed months or a comprehensive 21-day total. The first admission remains unknown. This is an earlier separate imprisonment: its February release cannot belong to the already stored November 6, 1985 Picatinny arrest, December 1983 one-week sentence, October 1986 TMI case or 1999 Pentagon stay. Follow-up source clarification: His first-person letter distinguishes August 6, 1984 release without prosecution from his August 9 return, charged arrest, refusal of recognizance and actual MCC arrival at about 7 p.m. The six-month Picatinny term ran concurrently with the five-month NYC graffiti term. This fills the beginning of the existing independently corroborated February 15, 1985 release case: 190 elapsed days, without adding concurrent sentences or the intervening free period. Source: https://media.nukeresister.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/NR027_19841203small.pdf#page=7
Charges: Arrest at Riverside Research Institute blockade, West 42nd Street, Manhattan; individual statutory charge not supplied
Arrested: Aug 25, 1986
Sentence: The September 1986 Catholic Worker individually names Felton Davis among those arrested August 25, 1986 during the blockade protesting the institute’s military research. A September 22 court appearance was prospective, not a conviction, sentence or release. Actual custody endpoints and duration remain unprinted. This is distinct from his Picatinny, Pentagon and TMI cases. Source: https://merton.bellarmine.edu/files/original/a6d49f891f187c875866469a770451ab7f5626c7.pdf#page=1
Charges: Trespass at Picatinny Arsenal; refusal of ordered community service
Arrested: May 5, 1982
Incarcerated: Nov 3, 1982
Released: Jan 31, 1983
Sentence: NR013 explicitly dates Felton Davis III’s May 5, 1982 Picatinny arrest and actual beginning of federal imprisonment November 3. The independently reviewed preserved NR015 page 12 update confirms actual January 31, 1983 release and says he served the full ninety days. That reported service total is preserved as 90 documented days; the calendar endpoints span 89 elapsed days and the source’s counting convention is not silently equated with elapsed days. This 1982–1983 case was previously described only in prose and is distinct from later Picatinny and Pentagon cases. Source: https://media.nukeresister.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/NR013_19821130small.pdf#page=3 Actual-release corroboration: https://media.nukeresister.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/NR015_19830309small.pdf#page=12
Charges: Criminal mischief following anti-nuclear messages at General Public Utilities
Arrested: Mar 28, 1984
Incarcerated: Mar 28, 1984
Released: Apr 19, 1984
Sentence: Felton Davis’s first-person account separates three March–April 1984 custody spells. He describes actual county-jail detention in lieu of $2,000 bail following March 28, 1984 spray-painting at GPU in Parsippany. Although bail was eliminated April 13, actual release occurred at about 9 p.m. April 19 after a court appearance; the order did not itself end custody. They are not continuous detention from March 28 through the later publication. Source: https://media.nukeresister.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/NR025_19840509small.pdf#page=6
Charges: Criminal mischief following anti-nuclear messages at General Public Utilities
Arrested: Apr 19, 1984
Incarcerated: Apr 19, 1984
Released: Apr 20, 1984
Sentence: Felton Davis’s first-person account separates three March–April 1984 custody spells. After actual release April 19, he returned on foot to the GPU site, was re-arrested and held overnight. An officer drove him to Newark and physically released him the following morning, Good Friday April 20. This is a separate overnight stay, with the brief release gap preserved. They are not continuous detention from March 28 through the later publication. Source: https://media.nukeresister.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/NR025_19840509small.pdf#page=6
Charges: Criminal mischief following anti-nuclear messages at General Public Utilities
Arrested: Apr 20, 1984
Incarcerated: Apr 20, 1984
Released: May 21, 1984
Sentence: Felton Davis’s first-person account separates three March–April 1984 custody spells. After spending Good Friday April 20 free, he returned to GPU’s Morristown office that night, was re-arrested after 10 p.m., held overnight at the station and returned to county jail Saturday April 21. He remained jailed at publication. No actual final release is supplied. They are not continuous detention from March 28 through the later publication. Source: https://media.nukeresister.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/NR025_19840509small.pdf#page=6
Plead: No contest
Charges: Anti-nuclear graffiti at General Public Utilities, Parsippany
Arrested: Mar 28, 1985
Sentenced: Sep 5, 1985
Incarcerated: Mar 28, 1985
Released: Sep 5, 1985
Sentence: The Felton Freed report individually says Davis had been jailed since March 28, 1985 and was physically released later on September 5 after sentencing that day. It distinguishes his continued summer detention from the judge’s expectation of bail after July trial. The six-month term and $1,000 restitution are court outcomes; actual custody was 161 elapsed days. This is a separate 1985 GPU episode, not the three March-April 1984 stays or the undated 1986 TMI entry. Source: https://media.nukeresister.org/wp-content/uploads/2026/08/NR033034_19850906small.pdf#page=5
Convicted: Yes
Charges: Passive resistance during Pentagon Hiroshima Day2000 protest; sentence custody in Alexandria County Jail
Incarcerated: Oct 23, 2000
Sentence: The December 2000 Azione Nonviolenta peace-prisoner roster individually lists Felton Davis as currently confined at Alexandria County Jail, serving a nominal 90-day sentence from October 23, 2000 following passive resistance at the Pentagon Hiroshima Day protest. Its masthead closed November30 and its introduction expressly concerns current imprisonment on December1; this corroborates actual admission after the earlier Finnish roster had only announced reporting. October23 is the beginning of this distinct2000 sentence custody, not an arrest date inferred from the protest. No completed 90-day total or actual release is supplied. Earlier and later episodes remain separate. Source: https://www.movimentononviolento.it/wp-content/uploads/2025/03/N.-12-Dicembre-22.pdf#page=8
Charges: Depredation of government property following peace-message graffiti at a New York federal building
Sentence: Actual MCC New York confinement reported in July 1984; anticipated one week not confirmed completed duration.